This is a “special edition” of OOC.  I am going to do a little rant about a movie I just saw, like what I do for the Major Spoiler podcast…

Movie: Black Swan (2010)

Starring: Natalie Portman

Let me start out by saying I was kind of tricked by Mrs. Kai into watching this, because she likes watching the musicals and the artsy movies.  Not to say that most of the time I tend to like them in the end, but it kind of takes me kicking and screaming to watch them.  I was also informed in a review that this movie was a mind-frack with a splice of sexy in it.  I was like “Natalie Portman being sexy? I’M IN !”

I was pleasantly surprised, this movie had all the good makings of a nice thriller, and it pulled it off.  Most of the time I am able to guess what is going on, but this movie, up until the last second had me going “WTF?”, in a good way.  It was pleasing to the eyes, and not just in the sexy parts.  Sometimes you have a thriller with that god awful “Blair Witch” shakey-cam crap, and it makes the movie almost unwatchable.  This did not do that! I was pleasantly surprised.

All in all, it’s pretty much what “everyone” is saying about it.  It has something for every adult in your house, good visuals, good music, good pacing, good suspense, good acting, and even a Frenchman you can hate!  Now WHO can’t like that?

Verdict: GO SEE THIS.  Even though it came out in 2010, the year of Inception, Tron 2, Toy Story 3, Scott Pilgrim, and a bunch of other good movies, this is defiantly up there.

-Dragos